Facebook Social Ads: 4 approaches to improved CTR

Social Ads are the Facebook equivalent to a classified ad in your local paper, when it comes to look and feel.  You don't have much control over the format or general appearance of your ad - but you do get to drop in an image, and you do get to craft your own demographic recipe.  

With so few variables under your control, you want to make sure you are using them as effectively as possible.  In a recent campaign, I tested campaign creative versus the school's standard logo image. The ad ran to a very narrow geographic area, to individuals 16 years and older. One version ran with campaign creative and the other ran with the logo - all other aspects were the same.  To get a little deeper, I added a third version that included a related keyword and a fourth version that targeted only high school students.

I was guessing that the creative would pull in more click-throughs than the school logo. I also had medium hopes for the keyword targeting and low hopes for the high school filter.  We know from our SkoolPool analytics that Facebook users leave a lot of profile fields blank, so I thought that from that I'd actually end up missing many high school students who hadn't clicked the official "high school" box on their profile info.

But that's why we do testing! Before I get into the results, here are a few key terms I'll be using:

  • Click-through rate (CTR): clicks divided by impressions/displays
  • Cost-per-click (CPC): average cost per click
  • Cost-per-thousand (CPM): average cost of 1,000 impressions

After 4 days, the school logo version of the ad had a CTR of 4% and the campaign creative version was only achieving 3%.  These were identical ads, with identical targeting, bidding etc - the only difference was the visual.  Therefore with this campaign, the logo achieved 50% more CTR than the campaign creative version. 

The keyword targetting in the third version of my ad narrowed the audience from almost 70,000 users to less than 200.  After 4 days this version had only won 398 impressions - and zero click-throughs.  

The fourth version of the ad was filtered to show only to self-identified high school students.  The high school field is a completely optional profile field on Facebook that some students may choose to select, and others may not.  For example, the starting pool for this campaign was almost 70,000 (16+ years old).  Filtered for high school self-identifiers, the pool dropped to 9,600 (16+ years old).  Take the high school filter off and limit age to 16 - 18 years old and the pool is 12,380. Conclusion: there are about 2,500 or so users between 16 to 18 years of age that are not self-identifying as high school students but may actually very well be high school students.  For the record, the campaign's geography was within Ontario where drop outs lose their driving privileges if they drop out before turning 18. 

The high school filtered version of the ad achieved a 3% click-through rate over the first 4 days of the campaign and had a CPM that was almost half of the unfiltered ads. This ad ran with the campaign creative. Therefore, filtering for "high school" only yielded a 33% increase in CTR (3% vs 2%).  Note: Despite the higher CTR, the "high school" ad had fewer clicks because it had a smaller overall audience size. 

Stats:

 Impressions
 Audience CTRCPC
CPM Clicks
v1- Creative
 122,617 70,6003%0.74
0.21
34
v2- Logo
 147,760 70,6004%0.610.24
58
v3- Keyword
 398 1600%0.000.00
0
v4- High School
 29,319 9,5803%0.350.12
10
       

 

Thanks for reading, Thanks to @cfast for keeping me on my toes! Updated 08.27.08

 

Melissa Cheater
eStrategy Consultant, Education Marketing

Academica Group Inc.
Full Cycle Marketing for Higher Education™

 

email | web | blog | facebook | twitter | del.icio.us | skype: MelissaAcademica

Melissa, I'm confused by a

Melissa, I'm confused by a few figures here: -- You reference a 2% CTR for the creative version, but the chart shows 3%. -- Wouldn't a jump from 2% to 3% in CTR actually be a 50% increase? -- Chart might be more useful if it included the total # of impressions each ad recorded. Finally, while improving CTR is good, aren't we ultimately trying to get the user to take some action once they click-through (apply for a course, request info, etc.)? Was there any discernible difference in this measure between users who clicked on the different ad versions?

Hey good catch - at the last

Hey good catch - at the last minute I deleted 3 other tables from the post. But you're right, 2% is the wrong number! So yes, it's a 50% increase. I'll add in the total impressions as well. I'm running the campaign for a school and in past campaigns haven't been able to get analytics from them. The ad is promoting a single program at the institution and is only showing in the school's primary catchment areas, and the click-through goes to the program information page. Without analytics on the actual application page, my best guess is that this campaign is helping - since the ad is so specific and the click through page is relevant and leads to more info/action. I'd definitely like to be able to measure conversion though ...

That's very impressive!

That's very impressive! Thanks for sharing your experience!

CTR

Hey Melissa I read your article and found the CTR rates you were getting as very impressive. Typical Facebook CTR range in the 0.02% to 0.04% - dismal really. It made me review your numbers and I think they're off. Let's look at your first version as an example: You state 34 clicks, with 122,617 impressions and a 3% ctr. My math works out to 34/122617 = 0.000277. Convert this to a percentage and it's 0.027%. So the rounded CTR is actually 0.03% NOT 3%. I think the confusion comes because facebooks reports CTR as a percentage already (i.e 0.03). Most people look at this number and think it's just a decimal that needs to be converted to percentage so they multiply by 100. Let me know if I'm wrong.

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